Progress of Hyderabad Metro Rail

With the completion of the Hyderabad Metro Rail, the city of Hyderabad will join other elite cities of the world with its very own Mass Rapid Transport System. Once completed, it is envisaged that the Metro Rail will convert Hyderabad into a most preferred city of the country, as it will offer seamless commuting across the city.

Facts about the Hyderabad Metro Rail Project 

The Metro Rail network will cover a distance of 72 kilometres and it is divided into 3 corridors.

Corridor I:  Miyapur to L.B. Nagar (29 km; 27 Stations)

Corridor II: JBS, Secunderabad to Falaknuma (15 km; 16 Stations)

Corridor III: Nagole to Shilparamam (28 km; 23 Stations)

The Metro Rail will provide ‘seamless travel’ facility through integration with the existing rail terminals, bus depots, MMTS stations and “Merry-go-round” feeder buses to nearby colonies and business areas/offices to offer comfortable, convenient and hassle-free travel across the City of Pearls. 

Highlights of the Hyderabad Metro Rail 

  • The three elevated corridors throughout the city will have Metro stations along the route at a distance of approximately 1 kilometer
  • The stations will be environment-friendly with state-of-the-art facilities like lifts, escalators and staircases
  • As the Metro Rail will pass through major roads of the city, it will provide seamless connectivity to commercial and residential areas as well as bus stations.
  • Along the three corridors, parking and leisure areas will be developed on the land provided by the Government of Andhra Pradesh

Progress of Hyderabad Metro Rail

The following table shows the Corridor number and Corridor Location.

Corridor Number Corridor Details
Corridor I Miyapur to LB Nagar
Stage 2 Miyapur to S R Nagar
Stage 5 S R Nagar to L B Nagar
Corridor II JBS to Falaknuma
Stage 6 JBS to Falaknuma
Corridor III Nagole to Shilparamam
Stage 1 Nagole to Mettuguda
Stage 3 Mettuguda to Begumpet
Stage 4 Begumpet to Shilparamam

 In many places the, concreting work for foundations and piers for the viaduct have finished and barricading work is in progress. This includes Nagole to Mettuguda, Miyapur to S.R. Nagar Mettuguda to Begumpet, and S.R. Nagar to L.B. Nagar. From Begumpet to Shilparamam, confirmatory boreholes and trial pits are being dug and the work is in progress. So far 947 foundations, 782 piers, 335 spans and 5678 viaduct segments have been completed.

With regard to the stations, at Stage 1, which is from Nagole to Mettuguda, 60 piers have been constructed; while for Stage 2, which is from Miyapur to S.R. Nagar, 53 piers have been completed and for stage 5, which is from S R Nagar to L B Nagar, 33 piers have been constructed. For stages 3 and 4, trial pits and confirmatory boreholes are being dug and the work is going on as per schedule.